My Godfather Passed Away

My parents, who were devout agnostics, had many friends with, what were at that time, the 50’s, equally weird views. My parents had worked for Adlai Stevenson, with the view that a General (Eisenhower), no matter how “beloved” was not necessarily a good leader for the United States.

Thus, for my godparents, people who were supposed to guide my spiritual development, they asked good friends of theirs, the Anastopolos. It was not until much later that I learned about George’s history (and we called them George and Sarah), although lots of this history happened while I was a child.  Several elegant eulogies have been published. Here is his blog. He was a fighter for the first amendment, before fighting for the first amendment was cool.

GeorgeAnastaplo

3 thoughts on “My Godfather Passed Away

  1. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this blog.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times
    it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and
    visual appearance. I must say you have done a fantastic job with this.

    In addition, the blog loads extremely quick for me on Safari.
    Excellent Blog!

  2. Just wish to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity for your submit is just cool and i could
    suppose you’re an expert in this subject. Well along with your permission let me to snatch your RSS
    feed to stay up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks 1,000,000 and please
    carry on the enjoyable work.

  3. Pingback: Legal Justice League Women of SCOTUS [revised] | Mistress of the Animals

Leave a Reply

