Parents and Students and Teachers

Thoughts from a chess class coach:

Parents complain all the time that I give too much work, that I should not penalize their child for late work, that I should not mark their child absent or late when they are not in class, and that I should not take points off homework for answers that don’t make sense. Of course not all parents, and not all kids either. I have some amazing, hard-working students and some supportive, caring parents. Just not too many, and it feels like not as many as I used to.

The whole thing is very sad. (ht: marginal revolution)

Leave a Reply

