We all worry about the little things

This is one that has crossed my mind from time to time. I usually don’t have enough energy or …. squirrel….

Anyway, for those of you worrying about blinking lights on your modem at home:

Lifehacker to the rescue (sometimes they are absurd, and sometimes they hit the nail on the head):

Dear Lifehacker,
My cable modem and router just keep flashing all night, even when I’m not doing anything on the internet. I know my power light is supposed to be on, but should the send/receive light is blinking even when all my computers are turned off? Am I using up data at all times? Help!

Sincerely,
Blinking Lights

Dear Blinking Lights,
First of all, there’s probably no reason to worry about this! There are a number of normal things happening in the background on your home network, out across the internet at large, and between your cable modem and your ISP that make it look like there’s a ton of traffic even if all of your computers and equipment are turned off.

 

 

Leave a Reply

