Exercise and the Diligent Scientist

I admit it. I love to exercise. I ran in high school and college, I swam in college, I was a life guard to support myself along the way. When things got tough I would figure out how to find time to exercise twice a day.

What I have come to love most is a renewed interest in lifting weights. I did this seriously for a while between partners once. Now, comfortably ensconced in late middle age, its not as easy as it was. But, for seeing progress (you can add weight every week to 10 days at the rate I’m going) it can’t be beat. Or rather it beats up on me.

I even have had a trainer figure out how to work in some HIIT (High intensity interval training) with my upper body (shaking de ropes), which for my money beats aerobics for the same effects (lower pulse, better sleeping, etc).

I envy those of you that can still run. I loved running. But alas, there comes a time and a set of knees where its not just feasible any more.

I may be the oldest, greyest, whitest and female-est person (most of the time) in the gym, but I  am surely not the most out of shape. And, even the thicknecks respect someone who is there and grunting along side of them. This does more for my mental health than anything but Auchentoshan.

3 thoughts on “Exercise and the Diligent Scientist

  1. I just got back from lifting at my school’s rec center. I think it is a similar environment here, and the whole thing makes me feel so good. I’m there lifting, which I love, with other people doing the same thing. I’m one of few women but everyone respects everyone else here, regardless of gender (although I acknowledge that I cannot speak to the experience of gender-variant people in the locker rooms and do not know if this sentiment is universal). People are polite about using the machines. And I also enjoy being able to see numeric gains in how much I can lift.
    This has become part of one of my synthesis SOPs. Early evening synthesis step, go to rec center, eat packed dinner, do the night step four hours after the evening step, and go home.

  2. I think an SOP is critical – it helps you keep going when you just want to roll over and go back to sleep or have another beer or …. anything but exercise.

  3. I don’t agree with the whole knees/age thing for not running. I have friends in their 70s who are still running and I’ve picked up running ultra distances in my 40s. Unless you have had a serious injury slowly getting back to running and incorporating cross-training – like the lifting you are already doing to strengthen the muscles of the legs – is definitely doable!

Leave a Reply

