Scientific reproducibility and negative results

From Nature referring to an earlier story about reproducibility, comes the shocking news that its hard to get negative results published. While the whole thing is valuable to think about, one part stood out for me:

According to Elizabeth Iorns, head of Science Exchange, a non-profit company based in Palo Alto, … “People become so invested in their results that challenges feel like a personal attack.”

Yup, Love me, love my science. Repeat after me: I am not my results. I am not my work. Criticisms of my work do not mean that I am fat, stupid and ugly.

 

One thought on “Scientific reproducibility and negative results

  1. Pingback: Toni Morrison on “The Work You Do, the Person You Are” | Mistress of the Animals

Leave a Reply

